Budapest, Hungary (05/07/2015 – 05/08/2015)

Early on Thursday we caught the 1:00 am bus to Madrid in order to get our flight. From Madrid we flew into Budapest. One of the first things I noticed was that there is a very distinctive look about people from Hungary. I cannot describe exactly what it is but you could definitely tell who was a native of the country. Having less than 24 hours in the city, we headed straight for the hostel to drop our bags. For lunch we found this tiny Chinese food place that was so cheap and amazing! From there, we took the metro into the city center to do some sightseeing and take some pictures. We took a cable car up to a castle like building that gave us a great view of the entire city.

P1040715

Unfortunately, at this point in the semester, I am so sick of taking pictures and traveling. I regret not taking many pictures of Budapest because it was absolutely beautiful. We were going to go to the famous thermal baths but by the time we ate dinner and made it back to the hostel, it was already 10 pm and a lot of them were closed. Instead, three of us went to a ruins bar to enjoy our sole night in Budapest. I don’t know if night life is like this in the United States but I saw/experienced some weird stuff happening in this particular bar. One, some guy complimented me on how well I speak English (he was American too)… Not too long after, I once again was picked up and carried around. I will never understand why this has happened to me twice in the past month as if it is a normal occurrence. And last but not least, I was looking for one of my friends and while I was walking around in the room I looked over and saw people shooting up needles into their arms. At this point I was ready to go back to the hostel in order to catch our 6 am bus to Prague.

Leave a comment